top of page

Theme Song

I love a good theme song. They just might be my favorite type of music to get stuck in my head. Theme songs bring back memories and strong emotions.

"You take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and there you have the facts of life, the facts of life"

-The Facts of Life (1979-1988)

Memory: I loved staying home from school on a "sick" day, laying in my moms bed with her, watching TV Land and laughing at our favorite character, Tootie.

Emotion: Joy, Peace, Comfort

"Now this is a story all about how my life got flipped turned upside down and I'd like to take a minute just sit right there, I'll tell ya how I became the prince of a town called Bel Air."

-The Fresh Prince of Bel Air (1990-1996)

Memory: I loved staying up late on Friday nights, watching Nick at Night, laughing so hard at Will. My sister and I always tried, and later succeeded in memorizing the theme song.

Emotion: Laughter, Happy, Goofy, Simple

Hawaii 5 O is actually is one of my favorite theme songs. I love the instrumentals of it and the strong drums. It stirs the emotion of intensity, thrill and anxiety. It's a quick theme song, but it's a powerful one!

If a show has a good theme song, its hard to turn it off. This got me thinking... What is my life's theme song? What kinds of memories and emotions do I want people to have of me?

Colossians 3:14-17 MSG says, "and regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It's your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it. Let the peace of Christ keep you in tune with each other, in step with each other. None of this going off and doing your own thing. And cultivate thankfulness. Let the Word of Christ - the Message - have the run of the house. Give it plenty of room in your lives. Instruct and direct one another using good common sense. And sing, sing your hearts out to God! Let every detail in your lives - words, actions, whatever - be done in the name of the Master, Jesus, thanking God the Father every step of the way."

For the next month, this beautiful verse in Colossians (the Message Version) is going to be my theme song. I want people to look at me and see the love of Jesus. I want to be known for my peaceful spirit, keeping my in tune with my Jesus. I want to have a heart that cultivates thankfulness. I want to let the word of Christ rule my house.

Just as John 13:35 says, "by this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another”, I pray that the love of Christ within me will be my theme song.

What's Your Theme Song?


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page